top of page

Chapter 13: Beginning My Reflection

10 days. 70 hours. 4200 minutes. 252000 seconds. Where does the time go? It is crazy to think that just a few short months ago, I was beginning this crazy journey and experience of student-teaching. I remember when I decided to change my major to agricultural and extension education. All I could think about was how student-teaching terrified me and that I would never have the confidence to be able to do it. And here I am, just a few short days from completing the biggest challenge I have faced in my collegiate career.

I think it is really important to start reflecting on my experience because time flies. Soon enough I will be graduated, hopefully hired, and headed into the fall teaching. In order to fully understand what this semester has meant to me, how I have grown, and how I have changed, it is important to take time to reflect on the experience.

So, I am taking the time to think about where I started and where I am now. How I feel so prepared to start teaching on my own. And how I am so excited to take the next steps towards my future.

Here's my token from week 13:

I have been teaching an Agriculture Science 1 class where we are on a wood shop unit. We went over the safety of all equipment, took safety quizzes, and had hands-on demonstration. After this, we started constructing wood nail boxes that each student will make. Thus, everyday we have a PPE check before they go to the shop (safety glasses on, hair tied back, and loose clothing secured) and continue working on their projects.

Last Tuesday, I had a really great experience in the wood shop. It was about the middle of class, everyone was working, and no one was asking any questions at that time. In that moment, I just stopped. I could have gone to the classroom, grabbed a chair, and sat in the corner of the shop and just watched my students work autonomously. It was a great feeling to know that my students are willing to work with and help each other, and that they feel comfortable enough to use the various pieces of equipment. In that moment, I really felt accomplished in my abilities to teach, especially mechanics content in a shop setting.

I only have a couple of days to make this experience count. I plan to finish strong and begin my professional career with a bang.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page